Voyage au pays des arbres: Lesson Ideas

I read Voyage au pays des arbres by J.M.G Le Clézio in about 20 minutes. My two year old appreciates the lovely illustrations by Henri Galeron and she even listened for a bit while I read the first few pages aloud 🙂 Hooray for sharing language learning with my progeny!

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 8.18.52 AM Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 8.19.19 AM

While I read, I looked up the tree species that I didn’t already know, but the rest of the vocabulary was within my grasp and I enjoyed the children’s book with my Monday morning tea. As for using this text in my upper level classes, I’m not so sure how that would look. I think that I would ask my students to read the book and then create their own children’s story modeled after the magical tale, complete with illustrations. This text would be much more fun with a level 2 or 3 class who would be eager to learn the new vocabulary helped along with the pictures.

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 8.19.28 AM Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 8.20.08 AM

But now that I continue to reflect, I think that the illustrations could be useful in any level classroom. I would project the images on my whiteboard and ask students to describe what they see! We could discuss in what genre of book you might find pictures like these, who would read those books, and how they feel about our determined genre. I would ask students to write a short story based on the images that they would share with a group or the class, depending on time and the number of students.

If you have a little one like I do, I would definitely recommend this book! I got my copy on amazon 🙂

Leave a Reply

