French movies to watch this summer

As much as I’m excited about the books I’ll be reading over the summer (just finished Voyage au pays des arbres! I’ll post about it later this week), I’m even more excited about all the movies I’ll be able to watch in the next two months. So far, I’ve seen Casse-tête chinois and Barbecue on netflix and I would recommend them both! Neither would work in its entirety in a lower level classroom, but there are plenty of great scenes that would be fun to watch and discuss with beginners. For my AP and French 5 students, we watch quite a few movies and my goal for next year is to be more intentional with my choices and incorporate more movies WITHOUT subtitles. At the end of my first year teaching AP, my students requested more crutch-less movies, so I’ll check more of those out on youtube as the summer goes by. Here is my preliminary list for AP by theme and French 5. Let me know what other movies you love that I should add!

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.27.32 AM  Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.27.54 AM Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.28.28 AM Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.28.55 AM

La science et la technologie :

Les Intouchables – we have a copy of this in our school library

La famille et la communauté :

La fille du puisatier – available on netflix and now in our school library

L’esthétique :

La Belle et la bête – on youtube

Les défis mondiaux :

L’homme qui plantait des arbres – on youtube

La vie contemporaine :

Le scaphandre et le papillon – on netflix

La quête de soi :

Une bouteille à la mer – on netflix and our school library

Ne le dis à personne – I own a copy

Now for French 5. When we watch a movie, I typically ask my students to either write a short paper (two or three paragraphs) or prepare a presentation (about a minute or two) to discuss a question(s) I ask at the beginning of the film. After each title, I’ll include the questions I’ve come up with so far. Please help me think of more !

Français 5 films :

  1. Les Intouchables : qui bénéfice plus de la relation ?
  2. La fille du Puisatier : le mariage
  3. La belle et la bête : les contes de fées, l’esthétique
  4. Le scaphandre et le papillon : les valides et les invalides
  5. L’homme qui plantait des arbres : l’environnement
  6. Madame Bovary : la littérature
  7. Ne le dis à personne : le suspense
  8. Populaire : la technologie comment ça change vite – on netflix
  9. Haute Cuisine : ce qu’on mange, la personnalité – netflix
  10. Le placard : la quête de soi – netflix
  11. Une bouteille à la mer : la guerre, la violence – netflix
  12. Pour une femme : l’infidélité, le communisme – netflix
  13. On the other side of the tracks – netflix
  14. Butterfly – netflix and school library
  15. The Grocer’s Son – netflix
  16. L’auberge espagnole : l’étude à l’étranger – personal DVD
  17. Casse-tête chinois : le pouvoir des mots, le divorce, l’immigration – netflix
  18. Ridicule – netflix
  19. Barbecue : la fidelité, l’amitié – netflix
  20. Les choristes : l’école – netflix
  21. Potiche : la valeur d’une femme – personal DVD
  22. Le dîner de cons : les gens méchants – personal DVD
  23. Le hussard sur le toit : c’est quoi le choléra ? – personal DVD
  24. Cyrano de Bergerac – personal DVD
  25. À la folie, pas du tout : la folie – personal DVD
  26. Joyeux Noël : la guerre et la paix – personal DVD
  27. Le château de ma mère : l’été – personal DVD
  28. La gloire de mon père – personal DVD
  29. Jean de Florette : la vie en Provence – personal DVD
  30. Manon des Sources : la vengeance – personal DVD
  31. Wasabi – personal DVD
  32. Etre et Avoir : les professeurs, l’école en France – personal DVD
  33. Bon Voyage : les choix dans la vie – personal DVD
  34. Camille Claudel – personal DVD
  35. Inch’Allah Dimanche : l’islam, la famille – personal DVD
  36. La vie en rose : la célébrité – personal DVD

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.50.32 AM Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.50.53 AMScreen Shot 2015-06-02 at 8.51.54 AM

Alternates :

La délicatesse, Farewell my queen, Persepolis, Kirikou, Lucky Luke, Triplettes de Belleville, Mission Cléopatre, Conte de Monte Cristo, Paris, je t’aime

To watch this summer on netflix:

Fanny

Renoir

The taste of others

Bicycling with Moliere

The French Minister

Capital

Last Love

The Jewish Cardinal

Marius

Reine Margot

On my way

Violette

Korkoro

The Prey

Perhaps I’ll dedicate August to finding movies on youtube without subtitles. I’ve heard that I can remove subtitles from netflix movies, but I haven’t tried that yet ! Obviously, that won’t be a problem with my own movies. How do you use film in class ? Please share your tips and tricks below !

Leave a Reply

