Summer reading!

 

IMG_4156IMG_4166    IMG_4167IMG_4159IMG_4157 IMG_4169

This summer, I plan to read:

1. Mon père est femme de ménage

2. Voyage au pays des arbres

3. Papillon

4. La nuit

5. La petite fille de Monsieur Linh

6. Où on va, papa?

7. Que serais-je sans toi?

8. 7 ans après…

9. Les âmes grises

10. Le scaphandre et le papillon

But I don’t want to just read, I want to write some lessons! Here’s to using my summer time wisely and getting excited for a new school year in August. If all goes well on the reading proficiency front, I plan to work out some listening exercises as well! I want to be as ready as I can be to teach French 4, 4 Honors, 5 Honors, and AP French in the fall. Please follow along as I learn how to incorporate books into my teaching 🙂 And comment as much as possible!! Merci!!

7 thoughts on “Summer reading!

  1. Any of these worth me checking out for 13-14 year olds? I teach Immersion, so less worried about language difficulty than mature content I need to be aware of in advance. (Thanks – and thanks for stopping by my blog earlier today too!)

    Like

    1. Voyage au pays des arbres would be my best bet for this group of books! And then it depends on which topics you want to avoid for that age group… La Petite fille de Monsieur Linh has war violence at the beginning when he finds his son and daughter-in-law murdered. Mon père est femme de ménage is a bit coarse and there is a short passage about the sexual abuse the narrator suffered at the hands of his uncle. Où on va, papa? might be too caustic, the father’s humor is very black and not fun for kids:( (or adults! this one was hard to read). Speaking of hard to read, La Nuit is about the Holocaust, so the violence and hatred is intense, but certainly worth considering for historical context and import! Le Scaphandre et le papillon was rather innocuous, but I don’t know how interesting it would be for young adults. I really like that it’s organized into short vignettes, so your students could always just read a few passages. The Musso books are a bit different: 7 ans après has some intense violence at the beginning and at the end and plenty of drug references. Que serais-je sans toi? has much less violence and some sex scenes and discussion. But both of these books are more entertaining (also much longer) than the rest of the set! I gave up before I got to the last two books in order to enjoy my last two weeks of summer 🙂 I plan to let my 16 to 18 year olds read whichever book they prefer, but you might want to be a bit more sensitive for the younger ones! Bonne lecture!

      Like

Leave a Reply

